The show is over. The audience get up to leave their seats.

The Show is Over... For about 10 years a favourite work of art of mine has been hanging at a friend’s place, as I didn’t have a place of my own. When I was in Sweden over the midsumer weekend I got it back and it now hangs in my own apartment here in Geneva, from this morning.

The artist is the New Yorker Christopher Wool and the statement in the painting is lifted from Greil Marcus’ social commentary, Lipstick Traces, and is a definition of nihilism:

The show is over. The audience get up to leave their seats. Time to collect their coats and go home. They turn around. No more coats and no more home.

It makes me think of how important it is to live in the present, so that at one point in the future you won’t wake up and realize that most of your life is gone…

    • joe
    • June 29th, 2011

    do you know where i can find this painting? i mean the original one.

    cheers joe

    • Kathleen Smith
    • October 16th, 2011

    I just saw it in MoMA in Manhattan.

    • Camille Collins Lovell
    • May 20th, 2012

    I wrote a song that is based in part on that poster – I’d send it to you if you were interested… looks like it isnt possible to upload it here..

  1. Hi Camille. I’d love to get your lyrics; I’ll send you my email address shortly. Cheers, Magnus

  2. I have noticed you don’t monetize your website, don’t
    waste your traffic, you can earn extra bucks every month because you’ve
    got hi quality content. If you want to know how
    to make extra $$$, search for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s
    tools

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

