The Alexandria Quartet

The Alexandia QuartetLast night I started to read the book The Alexandria Quartet by the British author Lawrence Durrell. I have heard a great deal of positive comments for these 4 novels (Justine (1957), Balthazar (1958), Mountolive (1958), and Clea (1960)) and look forward to reading them.

Having seen that the entry for The Alexandia Quartet in Wikipedia is only a “stub”, I have gotten motivated to provide my first Wikipedia contribution. Yes, why not? I like the idea of Wikipedia and use it a lot for my daily work. I find the entries of very high quality (usually) and in a recent test Wikipedia showed to be as accurate as Encyclopedia Britannica. Btw, here is an interesting Washington Post article on how Capitol Hill is playing WikiPolitics.

  1. I read that while on holiday in Egypt once, and found it gripping. Also, his ‘Reflections on a Marine Venus’ is rather good – about his life in Greece during (or maybe shortly after) WWII. Enjoy

  2. Thanks for your tip on ‘Reflections on a Marine Venus’, will for sure check it out. And, yes, I am starting to enjoy the Quartet (have gotten to page 68…).

    ~ Magnus

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

